Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 12.12.20 PM

I would like to show you how me to prepare for live sound event as a sound engineer especially, FOH Engineer.

  1. Technical Rider
    1. Input List
    2. Output List
    3. Sound Requirements
  2. Console Show File

First of all, for technical rider, I put FOH and Monitor requirements.

For this event, I knew the venue spec so I didn’t put any specific console, PA specs.

WE NEED

Stereo PA system with subwoofers

4 individual monitor wedges and drum fill

Vocal, Instrument Microphones and DIs (including 4 wireless microphone)

Cables (Besides the backline, instrument related cables)

Microphone stands and quantity

Next, I put stage plot.

It varies from the event to event.

BUT, One tip I can give you is DO NOT USE BAND MEMBER’S NAME. Sound Engineers don’t know band members’ name unless they are hired by band. Still, it is safer to put instrument / role name than band members’ name.

Lastly, In / Out list and if necessary, monitor requirements.

For this event, I use 25 inputs and 10 outputs.

Screen Shot 2017-04-24 at 12.20.51 PM

I usually carry all microphones but for this event, I hired all microphones and DIs so my choices are limited.

The technical rider varies from band to band, event to event so there’s no wrong way or right way but those things are can be put in the general technical rider.

Leave a Reply

